Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started with Research
If you're not sure how to start your research or assess information, these guides can help you develop a search strategy and identify the best sources of information:
If you would like more assistance:
- Visit the Library Information Desk
- Chat with Library staff during regular hours using the "Chat with Us" button on the right side of the screen
- Book a consultation with me, Kristian McInnis, using any of the contact points listed on this page
Information Security e-Resources
Use the e-resources below as starting points for your research. A login may be required for access.
If these resources aren't meeting your needs, there is a lot more information to be found on our e-resources page and through Library Search.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains articles covering a broad range of computer science and information technologies topics. The Guide section provides citations for additional articles dating back to 1952.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers research and development in computing and applied sciences. This collection includes academic journals, professional publications and other reference sources.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore (IEL) subscription includes full text access to: IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions (including Spectrum Magazine and the Proceedings of the IEEE); IET journals and magazines; Proceedings from IEEE and IET annual conferences; more than 3,700 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields; access to Bell Labs Technical Journal and VDE Verlag conferences.
Depending on the scope of your research and the nature of your end product, the following guides may also be useful to you.
Find More Sources of Information
Library Search lets you find print and electronic resources from across the Library's many collections.
Just enter a few keywords related to your topic. Then, on the search results page, use the tools in the left column to narrow your results by date, format, and subject.
This guide was compiled and edited by the 2019 LIT Summer Students, Laura Edwards and Desirae Laviolette Brown