Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide has been developed for Library Information Technology (LIT) students pursuing an independent study project for LIBR 399. Students can use this guide to help them:
- Develop a project plan
- Define a focused research topic
- Identify potential sources of information
- Deliver a well-developed final product
Though written primarily for students in LIBR 399, aspects of this guide may also be useful to students engaged in large projects for other LIT classes.
These resources are good starting places for many library and information technology topics. A login may be required for access.
Of course, there is a lot more information to be found on our e-resources page or through Library Search.
Alberta Research Portal
This collection provides access to books, newspapers and other primary documents from the 17th century to the present day.
Education Research Complete
Provides access to material covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties. This collection includes journal articles, books and conference papers.
Library and Information Science Source
This database provides full-text coverage and high-quality indexing to help librarians and researchers to keep pace with the latest trends in a rapidly evolving field of library and information science. It encompasses subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval and information management. It also provides comprehensive coverage of the history of library studies. There are currently 435 titles.
Depending on the scope of your research and the nature of your end product, the following guides may also be useful to you.
Find More Sources of Information
Library Search lets you find print and electronic resources from across the Library's many collections.
Just enter a few keywords related to your topic. Then, on the search results page, use the tools in the left column to narrow your results by date, format, and subject.