Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBR 200: Library Tours: Collections

Information about the Library for LIBR 200 students.

Collections Information

Our library specializes in technical information and industry codes and standards. We provides our users with a variety of books and other resources - both in print and online - to support learning and research in the disciplines and professions taught at SAIT. 

We also maintain a collection of magazines and journals covering a variety of trades and professions, along with general interest topics. We keep most print periodicals for current year +2. Print periodicals, both current and back-issue are arranged alphabetically by title. 

However, the vast majority of our collections are available to users online through our licensed e-resources. These e-resources comprise e-books, e-journals, streaming video, digital images, datasets and more. 

Though we have some resources supporting topics in the humanities and social sciences, these subjects are not an area of focus for us. 

Interlibrary Loan

We supplement our collections by providing interlibrary loan services to SAIT's students, staff and faculty. Most of the material we bring in on Interlibrary Loan is in the areas of humanities, social sciences, health sciences and education. 

We also lend out materials to other libraries. Usually outgoing ILLs are technical manuals and industry codes or standards. 

Special Collections

In addition to print books, journals, e-resources and other traditional collections we have several smaller special collections.

  • board games, such as:
    • Carcassonne
    • Dungeons & Dragons
    • Munchkin
    • and many more
  • course textbooks and other reserves
  • English as a second language resources
  • fiction, comprising
    • juvenile and young adult books
    • novels and graphic novels
  • industry standards and codes
  • LEGO Mindstorms kits
  • media devices, such as:
    • calculators
    • phone chargers
    • presentation clickers
    • and more
  • media kits, comprising:
    • Camcorders
    • DSLR cameras
    • Laptops
    • and associated peripherals
  • focus tools
    • noise cancelling headphones
    • balance ball chairs
    • light therapy lamp

The page linked below lists loan periods, fines and borrower restrictions for our various collections. 

chat loading...