Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why can't I just use an image from Google?
You do not necessarily have permission to use all of the photos and videos that you find from a Google search. To find images that you are sure you have permission to use in your assignments, you can use the image databases that the Library gives you access to - see the options below.
Finding images in the Library's databases
The Library gives you access to two databases with images that you can download to use in your assignments and presentations.
Stedman’s Online This link opens in a new window
This product contains the Stedman’s Medical Dictionary including a broad range of full color illustrations, videos and reference materials. It also contains The Acland’s Atlas of Human Anatomy video series, the Health and Nursing Dictionary, Dental Dictionary and Pocket Medical Dictionary.
Stedman's Online has both photos and x-ray images of oral conditions and disorders. Select the Illustrations tab and then the Dental Dictionary tab to find images specific to your area.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
A collection of almost 3 million images including images from the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, and a Canadian Photo collection.
Britannica ImageQuest has images of professionals providing dental care, as well as a few x-rays. It's organized differently from Stedman's so you'll have to try searching using terms like dental care to find results. This is a good place to find stock photos of patient interactions and dental tools.
Don't forget that you need a citation for any image that you use! Instructions on how to cite an image can be found on the Citing tab of this guide.