Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What can I get from an article?
- The results of original research conducted by experts in the field
- This information is written for experts or practitioners - some of the information will be too in-depth for your needs as a student. Check the introduction and discussion sections specifically for broader information and best practices that may be useful to you.
The best way to find health research is to search in databases. Databases allow you to search many academic journals at once to find relevant articles. These are some top databases for your area:
Dentistry and Oral Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text journals and books covering a variety of subject areas for dental practitioners and researchers.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry,health care systems and many other medical disciplines. Provides full text for over 2,500 journals, and citations and abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1,400 titles covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Can't find what you need? Here is the full list of health databases
Try using words from your assignment topic first (e.g."gum disease").
If you're having trouble finding articles and books that match your topic, try using a more specific technical term (e.g. gingivitis) or adding words to describe what aspect you need (e.g. gingivitis AND treatment, gingivitis AND prevention).
To focus your search further, consider adding a specific patient type to your search (e.g. gingivitis AND prevention AND children).
If you do a search like this in one of the Library's databases (i.e. not with Google)...
... you'll get results on dairy products as well as deciduous (milk) teeth.
Instead, use quotations to specify that you want to search for those words as a phrase, rather than as separate words.
Rather than doing separate searches using each of your keywords, you can search for similar keywords by using Boolean operators (and, or, not).
For example, you can search for milk teeth, baby teeth, and deciduous teeth all at the same time by using quotations and 'or'
This ensures that results with any of these keywords will be retrieved.