A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources. All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your instructors. Articles from databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
Most of the below content is also indexed in the main Library Search on our homepage. It may be beneficial to search an individual database when you are getting too many irrelevant results in our Library Search.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowContains biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of author's works. Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowProvides complete biographical and bibliographic information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, cross-searchable coverage of Shakespeare’s work, critical reception, textual history, performance history and cultural and historical context.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage of science, the arts, law, lifestyles and academia from a Canadian perspective. Contains CBCA Education and CBCA Business & Current Affairs.
Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly material. Search for the author or title of the work along with some search terms that relate to your research question to find academic articles.
Found a great article but you cannot access it? Request the article through interlibrary loan and we'll send you a copy.
The below databases are not specific to literature but may provide useful articles for support.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of publications covering nearly every field of academic study, including: science, technology, arts, and social science.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowCombines magazines, newspapers and reference books to create a collection of Canadian publications. Includes many international books and journals with Canadian content or articles of interest to Canadians.