Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COMM 288 - Recommendation Report
Use the resources on this page to find sources and illustrations for your recommendation reports. Remember to think about RADAR for each source you find.
Although the library is your key to technical, scientific, and peer-reviewed resources, you may need to find sources outside of the library that will better suit your reports. You may need an Annual Report showing how many fulltime students were enrolled last year, or a company policy on harassment, or an organizational strategy on mental health. Perhaps you need data, or a patent, or archived blueprints. There are many different types of sources you can use, just think about which types are more appropriate to use when.
STEM Databases - Find Sources Specifically for STEM Fields
IEEE Xplore (IEL) subscription includes full text access to: IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions (including Spectrum Magazine and the Proceedings of the IEEE); IET journals and magazines; Proceedings from IEEE and IET annual conferences; more than 3,700 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields; access to Bell Labs Technical Journal and VDE Verlag conferences.
ScienceDirect Physical Sciences Collection
ScienceDirect Physical Sciences Collection includes full-text articles from over 500 journals in the physical sciences and engineering disciplines.
A dynamic online resource that provides over 300 titles covering all aspects of engineering. Please be sure to follow site instructions to get full-contact access. AccessEngineering does NOT work well with the Edge browser.
Science and Technology Library
Contains over 450 peer-reviewed academic journals covering most major science disciplines, with coverage dating back to 1997, including: agriculture, environmental science, chemistry, engineering, computing and technology, mathematics, statistics and physics.
ASME Digital Collection
The American Society of Mechanical Engineers' collection of current and archival literature.
Industry and Market Research
Need information about a specific company or industry? For companies, start with the company website - it will typically have the most comprehensive and up to date information. For additional research on companies and general industry information, check out these library resources:
Provides comprehensive coverage of business topics, including: local and regional business news, professional business journals, scholarly research, trade and industry publications and more. **NOTE - If not opening, try another browser **
Business Source Complete
Covers all disciplines of business, including: marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes: market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Provides ratings, reviews, and product comparisons for over 5,000 products including cars, appliances, electronics and more.
Contains over 400 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry reports. IBISWorld research reports contain trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates. Major market segments are identified and also those key external forces affecting supply and demand within the industry. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
A collection of almost 3 million images including images from the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, and a Canadian Photo collection.
Google search tips
Use the tips below to increase your efficiency when searching with Google and don't forget to evaluate information you find on the web.
- Exact phrase searching: put quotations around a set of terms to search the phrase exactly as it appears. For example, if you're looking for information on programmable logic controllers, type it in as "programmable logic controllers" to ensure all three words are searched as a phrase.
- Search a specific site or domain: want to limit your search results to Government of Alberta sources? Type site:.gov.ab.ca in the search bar along with your search terms to view results from government websites. Use the site: command for any website or domain if you want to limit the source of your results (i.e. site:.edu for US education institutions; site:.org for non-profit organizations; site:.cenovus.com for information from Cenovus).