Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What can I get from an article?
- The results of original research conducted by experts in the field
- This information is written for experts or practitioners - some of the information will be too in-depth for your needs as a student. Check the introduction and discussion sections specifically for broader information and best practices that may be useful to you.
The best way to find health research is to search in databases. Databases allow you to search many academic journals at once to find relevant articles. These are some top databases for your area:
Includes over 1,400 titles covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Contains authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry,health care systems and many other medical disciplines. Provides full text for over 2,500 journals, and citations and abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Can't find what you need? Here is the full list of health databases.
Try using words from your assignment topic first (e.g."determinants of health").
You can add words to describe what aspect you want to research (e.g. "determinants of health" AND immigrant*)
To focus your search further, consider adding a specific demographic or geographical area to your search
e.g. "determinants of health" AND immigrant* AND women
e.g. "determinants of health" AND (indigenous OR "First Nations" OR aboriginal) AND Canada