Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Start
When looking for information on architecture projects and architects who worked in the Calgary area:
- Search the SAIT Library catalogue using the name of the architect and/or building name.
- Search using a general search: "Calgary and (architect* or home* or house* or building*)"
- Search for historical resources: "Calgary and history and building*"
University of Calgary Resources
You can obtain a free TAL card at the SAIT Library that will allow you to use the resources and services at the University of Calgary Library system.
- Canadian Architectural Archives, Centre for Arts & Culture, 5th floor of Taylor Family Digital Library
- The largest collection of architectural drawings, business records, photographs, slides, and models related to Modern Canadian Architecture in the world. Many images can be viewed on line, but an appointment may be necessary to access other files.
- Special Collections, Rare Book Collection, Centre for Arts & Culture, 5th floor of Taylor Digital Library
- Visual and Performing Arts, 3rd floor of Taylor Family Digital Library
- The Canadian Artists Files includes over 14,000 artists, architects, designers, and art critics. The files include items such as gallery announcements, small exhibition catalogues, CVs, artist statements, clippings, and other ephemera. An index of the public art and buildings found within the collection is available online.
- The Glenbow Western Research Centre at the 2nd floor of Taylor Digital Library
- This online collection includes photographic and print materials related to historical activities across western Canada.
- Spatial and Numeric Data Services, 4th floor of Taylor Family Library, University of Calgary
- Visit the department to access Calgary airphotos, fire insurance plans, city files, and historical maps.
- Browse University of Calgary's Digital Collections Historical Newspaper collection for both images and articles.