Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started with Research
If you're not sure how to start your research or assess information, these guides can help you develop a search strategy and identify the best sources of information:
If you would like more assistance:
- Visit the Library Information Desk
- Chat with Library staff during regular hours using the "Chat with Us" button on the right side of the screen
- Book a consultation with me, Kristian McInnis, using any of the contact points listed on this page
Video Production and Broadcasting e-Resources
Use the e-resources below as starting points for your research. A login may be required for access.
If these resources aren't meeting your needs, there is a lot more information to be found on our e-resources page and through Library Search.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Provides access to articles covering broad range of film and television topics: from criticism and review to production and technology. Content includes scholarly, general interest and professional publications.
IEEE Xplore (IEL) subscription includes full text access to: IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions (including Spectrum Magazine and the Proceedings of the IEEE); IET journals and magazines; Proceedings from IEEE and IET annual conferences; more than 3,700 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields; access to Bell Labs Technical Journal and VDE Verlag conferences.
Pro Sound Effects
Pro Sound provides access to over 40,000 HD sound effects for use in media productions, presentations and more. New sounds are added regularly.
Depending on the scope of your research and the nature of your end product, the following guides may also be useful to you:
Consider using the free courses offered by Linkedin Learning to boost both your hard and soft skills. To access them you will need a free LinkedIn account; once you have either signed up or signed in there are a multitude of courses to choose from.
Refresh your Microsoft Office skills, gain new techniques to add to your photography arsenal, or learn to communicate better with your team. LinkedIn Learning provides something new for everyone; ranging from the creative to the technical.
Find More Sources of Information
Library Search lets you find print and electronic resources from across the Library's many collections.
Just enter a few keywords related to your topic. Then, on the search results page, use the tools in the left column to narrow your results by date, format, and subject.
This guide was compiled and edited by the 2019 LIT Summer Students, Laura Edwards and Desirae Laviolette Brown