Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary and Secondary Sources
There are two main types of sources included in this guide. The first are primary sources, which are original accounts of or representations of an event or idea. Within the realm of pop culture, primary sources are things like movies, audio clips, books and games; they ARE the media. Secondary sources are one step removed from a primary source. Typically, they are an interpretation, review, or analysis of the original media. Film reviews, book club blogs and collections of statistics fit into this category, because they talk ABOUT the media.
When researching popular culture, it is important to remember this distinction. Primary sources allow you to analyze their content yourself, while secondary sources provide context and contemporary thoughts on the original source.
Textual Resources Online
Make use of the online e-resources the library has to offer accessible through the Reg Erhardt Library website.
- Browse our online catalogue to discover books that, while we may not have a print copy, we have access to an online ebook.
- Online Magazines
- Browse our online catalogue to discover and read magazines that we don't have available in print.
Film and Video Resources Online
Access our video streaming services by clicking on the links below:
Alexander Street offers over 23,000 film titles, and continues to grow. These videos include materials from over 300 unique content partners including BBC, Bloomberg, Canal+, CRM Learning, Discovery, CBS, HBO, Janus Films (Criterion Collection), Kantola, Medcom, National Geographic, NBCUniversal, and many more. It also includes an array of tools to support learning and teaching (like video clipping, playlists, and tutorials).
Provides access to thousands of the best audio and video documentaries CBC and Radio-Canada has to offer
Films on Demand
Provides access to thousands of educational videos covering topics such as travel, business, technology, social sciences and more. It divides films into short clips, allowing you to easily focus on the most relevant portion of any particular video. Also has advanced features for setting playlists and sharing videos.
Kanopy's an award-winning collection of thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos from PBS, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, and hundreds of other leading producers.
All of the below are available for loan at the Reg Erhardt Library, located in Stan Grad Centre.
- Juvenile, young adult, an array of adult fiction, and graphic novels.
- Board Games
- Such as Dungeons and Dragons, Settlers of Catan, Apples to Apples, to name a few.
- Motion Picture Scripts
- Including Ghostbusters, Pulp Fiction, Being John Malkovich, and more.
- A variety of magazines are available ranging in subjects from coding to yoga.
- Home Use Video
- Professional, travel, and motion picture videos, among others.
Criticism and Theory e-Resources
Use the following databases to find authoritative information for your next paper, research project, or to satisfy your own curious mind.
Choice Reviews Online
Contains reviews of books and electronic resources of interest to higher education. More than 6500 reviews added each year.
Provides complete biographical and bibliographic information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Provides access to articles covering broad range of film and television topics: from criticism and review to production and technology. Content includes scholarly, general interest and professional publications.
Literature Resource Centre
Contains biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of author's works. Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Below are a few books based on popular culture and how it affects modern culture and society. Keep in mind this is just a small sample of our collection; please search our online catalogue for more content.
Journals & Magazines
Here we have a number of periodicals accessible online. They cover a variety of viewpoints, but this represents just a small part of our collection; please feel free to use our Journal Finder to see if we have something more specific to what you're looking for.