It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Standards & Codes: General Standards & Codes
Find international, national and regional standards and codes by industry in electronic and print formats.
The Library has subscriptions to a broad variety of standards e-resources which support the MacPhail School of Energy and the Schools of Construction, Manufacturing and Automation, Health and Public Safety, and Information and Communication Technologies.
If you experience access issues, please clear your cache or try another browser.
Techstreet provides easy, immediate access to some of the largest collections of industry codes and standards through their web platform.
The following industry codes and standards are now available through Techstreet:
• All ASME standards and BPVC Codes
• All API standards
• The National Building Code of Canada, including the Fire and Plumbing Codes of Canada
• Alberta Building Code
• Selected ISO standards for the WET programs
The FileOpen plugin is required to view documents from Techstreet.
Contains the entire collection of CSA (Canadian Standards Association) standards and related documents, including the National Building Code, Electrical Code, and more. Some of the documents are quite large and may take couple of minutes to open.
Some documents are available in PDF versions on-campus. Works best with Firefox. Printing is not available for these materials.
IEEE Xplore (IEL) subscription includes full text access to: IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions (including Spectrum Magazine and the Proceedings of the IEEE); IET journals and magazines; Proceedings from IEEE and IET annual conferences; more than 3,700 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields; access to Bell Labs Technical Journal and VDE Verlag conferences.
Health, safety and environmental legislation as well as guidelines and codes of practice for: Canada (Federal), British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Yukon, North West Territories, and Nunavut.
These standards are also available in print in the Reference Collection:
The National Building Code and derivatives (National Electrical, Energy, and Fire codes as well as Alberta versions of the codes) are available as a free download for personal use. The NRC has made it very easy, with a direct download option from their archive: