Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Language Foundations Resources: Home

Support for English Language Learners

How I Can Help

Hello English Language Foundations students!

Welcome to SAIT and to the Reg Erhardt Library.  On this guide, you'll find selected resources relevant to your program.

As your Library Liaison, I can help you with:

  • Finding books and materials for your assignments
  • Learning how to use the Library
  • Recommending resources in the Library for your studies and personal interests
  • How to do research at a post-secondary level
  • How to format in-text and reference list citations (mainly in APA, IEEE, and Vancouver, and other styles upon request

If what you'd like help with is not covered in the above, I can also direct you to the best person at SAIT (or even in Calgary) who can. Lots of supports are available - don't hesitate to use them. You can get in touch with me using the links in my profile on the right side of this page.

English Language Foundations Collection

Our physical collection of ELF books includes:

  • Dictionaries and thesauri.
  • Testing practice books for IELTS, TOEFL, CAEL, CELPIP, and other testing systems.
  • ESL readers to practice your reading at various levels.

We also have textbooks for most SAIT courses available behind the desk for short term loan.

The collection is located on Level 1 of the Library next to our Fiction collection. If you need assistance locating it, please ask at the Information Desk.

Aside from our physical collection, the Library has access to many e-Resources (including eBooks, articles, and streaming videos) that can be accessed both on and off campus using your mySAIT/Brightspace username and password.

All students also have access to our collections of popular fiction, graphic novels, young adult and juvenile fiction, magazines & newspapers, and our home use DVD collection.

PrepSTEP

Check out the e-resource PrepSTEP for resources and tutorials on core English skills and TOEFL, IETLS, and Canadian citizenship exams. Note that you'll need to create a separate account on the PrepSTEP website to access resources.

Questions? Contact me!

Profile Photo
Kevin Tanner
he/him/his
Contact:
Reg Erhardt Library
Stan Grand Centre, MC119
403-210-4280
chat loading...