Guides: Bachelor of Applied Technology Petroleum Engineering: Library resources

Don't know where to start?

PetroWiki This link opens in a new window
Literally the Wikipedia for petroleum, PetroWiki provides detailed background information and suggested readings on a wide range of oil and gas topics.

Search the Library

Once you've decided on your topic, be sure to pick out the keywords - the big ideas or main concepts - in your research question. Use the following search terms to help construct your search phrase:

AND - find all the terms (ex. petroleum AND hydrocarbon)
OR - find any of the terms (ex. petroleum OR hydrocarbon)
NOT - exclude a certain term (ex. petroleum NOT hydrocarbon)

For more information about developing a research strategy, visit our Research Tutorial.

Find Articles - Science, Technology, Engineering

The following resources have vast collections of scientific and market research articles that can provide you with inspiration, ideas, and credibility for your reports and projects.

OnePetro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Technical reports and scholarly articles covering a variety of energy industries and disciplines.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers diverse environmental topics, such as: agriculture, environmental law and technology, ecology, pollution and waste management and renewable energy.
ScienceDirect Physical Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Physical Sciences Collection includes full-text articles from over 500 journals in the physical sciences and engineering disciplines.
Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A dynamic online resource that provides over 300 titles covering all aspects of engineering. Please be sure to follow site instructions to get full-contact access.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore (IEL) subscription includes full text access to: IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions (including Spectrum Magazine and the Proceedings of the IEEE); IET journals and magazines; Proceedings from IEEE and IET annual conferences; more than 3,700 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields; access to Bell Labs Technical Journal and VDE Verlag conferences.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles covering hundreds of science-related topics, including: computing, engineering, transportation, technology, chemistry, and more.

Find Articles - Business, News, Data

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including: marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional content includes: market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 400 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry reports. IBISWorld research reports contain trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates. Major market segments are identified and also those key external forces affecting supply and demand within the industry. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources worldwide, providing statistics data, reports, outlooks, company profiles and info-graphics.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian daily and weekly newspapers with articles dating back to the early 1980s. Includes urban, rural and community news and publications from across the country.

Librarian

Reg Erhardt Library

Book a Study Room

Need a space to meet with your group? Practice a presentation?

Find Course Textbooks

The Library has copies of all course textbooks available to use for a 4 hour period.

Course Textbook Collections

Bachelor of Applied Technology Petroleum Engineering: Library resources